Voting in RK Nagar

The voting for RK Nagar constituency in Tamil Nadu assembly was undertaken on Thursday. The seat fell vacant after the demise of the then Chief Minister Jayalalithaa. The elections were first scheduled for April 2017 but were cancelled due to complaints of large-scale voter bribery. The result for the all important election will be declared on 24th December. Winning the seat has become a battle of prestige and especially for the leading AIADMK.

The contestant for the elections include AIADMK candidate E Madhusudhanan , Sidelined AIADMK leader TTV Dinakaran, DMK candidate N Marudhu Ganesh and BJP’s K Nagaranjan.

Chief Minister E Palaniswamy and Deputy CM O Paneerselvam rely upon AIADMK candidate E Madhusudhanan to win the prestigious seat back. E Madhusudhanan looked confident of winning the bypoll. He said ““God and Amma’s grace with us”.

The election was closely monitored by Election Commission (EC) which deployed 9 observers, highest for any single constituency elections. Apart from the observers as many as 75 flying squads, 21 static surveillance squad and 20 video squads were put on duty to monitor the elections.

There was a record voting percentage of 77% in RK Nagar which was the highest since 2011.

NewsX has predicted TTV Dhinakaran as the winner in RK Nagar by poll elections.

As per the exit poll by NewsX result can be something similar to

·        TTV Dhinakaran 37%
·        AIADMK 26%
·        DMK 18%
·        BJP 2%
·        Others 17%


BJP MP Subrimaniam Swamy tweeted after the elections “Exit poll in RK Nagar puts TTV Dinakaran ahead with 37 % votes and winner. Good news”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here