PM Narendra Modi at Amar Jawan Jyoti

On the occasion of Vijay Diwas, Defence minister Nirmala Sitharaman, Army chief Gen Bipin Rawat, Chief of Naval Staff Admiral Sunil Lanba & Chief of Air Staff Air Chief Marshal Birender Singh Dhanoa on Saturday, paid their tributes to all those soldiers who lost their lives in 1971 Indo-Pak war at Amar Jawan Jyoti.

As the day marks the victory of India against Pakistan, this day is called as the Vijay Diwas. It saw many Indian soldiers sacrificing their lives in order to protect their motherland. This day is also celebrated as Victory day of Bangladesh as they defeated Pakistan Forces along with Indian Army.

This is the 46th anniversary of the war between India and Pakistan that took place in 1971. The anniversary is celebrated as Vijay Diwas. On 16th December 1971, the Pakistani force chief along with his troops surrendered to allied forces which comprised of Mukti Bahini and Indian Army. Country leaders including the prime minister and president tweeted and hailed those soldiers who lost their lives in the war on the day

“On Vijay Diwas we salute the unflinching courage of all those who fought in 1971 and protected our nation diligently. Every Indian is proud of their heroism and service” PM tweeted.

“On Vijay Diwas, we remember with gratitude our Armed Forces who defended our nation and upheld universal values of human liberty in 1971. In particular, we pay tribute to those who lost their lives in that valiant effort” President tweeted.

Finance minister Arun Jaitley tweeted that “Salute to indomitable courage of our soldiers on Vijay Diwas”



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here