Voters after voting

By-poll elections were conducted in 4 states on 21 December 2017. These by-polls had a significance of their own owing to the seats for which they were conducted, the most high profile seat being RK Nagar which got vacant after the demise of former Tamil Nadu CM Jayalalitha. The By-polls also included a seat each from West Bengal and Uttar Pradesh and Couple of seats from Arunachal Pradesh.

The results in the different constituencies is

  • RK Nagar (Tamil Nadu)

TTV Dinakaran (Independent) won the by-poll easily by a margin of around 40,000 votes. The win must have come as a big blow to the ruling AIADMK Government.

  • Pakke-Kessang and Likabali (Arunachal Pradesh)

BJP continues to grow in the state as it won the elections on both the seats increasing its strength to 49 in the 60 member assembly. Though BJP candidates got a good competition, they finally managed to win both the seats in the state.

PM Modi tweeted to congratulate party workers in the state “I thank the people of Likabali and Pakke Kesang in Arunachal Pradesh for reposing their faith in BJP. We derive immense strength from this affection and remain committed to transforming the Northeast.”

  • Sikandra (Uttar Pradesh)

BJP managed to retain the Sikandra seat in the state securing a win over Seema Sachan of the Samajwadi Party by a margin of around 11,000 votes.

PM Modi congratulated the state president Yogi Adityanath and workers in the state for retaining the constituency.

  • Sabang (West Bengal)

The ruling TMC (Trinamool Congress) stormed to an easy victory in the Sabang by-poll election, defeating the nearest rival by a whopping 64,000 votes. The candidate from CPM emerged as the runner-up and BJP came third.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here