PM Narendra Modi with Former Himachal CM Prem Kumar Dhumal

BJP won the elections in both Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh Vidhan Sabha elections. While the elections in Gujarat were covered by all and got a good media coverage, Himachal elections were certainly the lesser talked affairs among the two. Himachal elections saw BJP winning by a comfortable majority of 44 out of total 68 seats. However, there is still a lot of suspense in the name of the Chief Minister.

The confusion started after BJP’s CM face Prem Kumar Dhumal lost in the elections. He has already been the Chief Minister of the state for two terms (1998-2003 & 2007-2012). After his humiliating defeat also his name is not yet ruled out for the post of Chief Minister. Dhumal can still be given the control of the state.

BJP State President Satpal Satti told the media that BJP legislative party will be meeting on Sunday. The Next Chief Minister for the state will be announced after the meeting under the observation of Union Ministers Nirmala Sitaraman and Narendra Singh Tomar and state party in charge Mangal Pandey.

The names who are in the consideration for the post of Chief Minister include Union Health Minister JP Nadda and Jairam Thakur. The names of party legislators Suresh Bharadwaj and Rajeev Bindal are also in the race for the post of Chief Minister.

The final decision regarding Government formation and Chief Minister will be taken by the state legislators and Member of parliaments.

Central Observers might convey the name of the Chief Minister confirmed by the central leadership to legislators and the name will be decided if they approve it in complete agreement.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here