It was time for the biggest night in Hollywood, it was time for the Oscars at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles, California.

Jimmy Kimmel returned to host the 90th annual Academy Awards for a second consecutive year and started off in his trademark humorous style before addressing the hot topics that have been making headlines in Hollywood over the past year.

Giving his monologue a political taste and speaking about Donald Trump Presidency, “This broadcast is being watched live by millions of Americans and around the world in more than 225 countries that now hate us,” he joked at the top of the show.

‘The Shape of Water’ which led the way with 13 nominations, took home four Oscars including Best Picture and Best Directing to Guillermo del Toro. The war-drama ‘Dunkirk’ followed close behind with three Oscar wins for Film Editing, Sound Mixing, and Sound Editing.

But, it was Mexico, with all its talent and fine artwork that owned the night at the Dolby Theatre. Mexico entered the Dolby Theater last night, got up on the stage right from the start, and didn’t come back down again.

Mexico not only won the awards for the best song and the best-animated film this year, but a Mexican director Guillermo del Toro won the best director award for ‘Shape of Water’ thus making it a memorable night for the Mexicans.

Frances McDormand won the Best Actress Oscar for her performance as Mildred Hayes in the film Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, but it was feminism moment during her thanksgiving speech that made all the headlines. At the end of her acceptance speech, McDormand invited every single nominated woman in the room to stand. Actors, writers, directors, and other filmmakers were visibly emotional, wiping tears, cheering, and hugging in the audience.

Oscars never seems to amaze us and it was their gesture towards Sridevi and Shammi Kapoor that lest every Indian teary-eyed. The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Science paid tribute to the two Indian legends in the Memoriam segment at the 2018 Oscars ceremony.

Here’s the complete list of all the winners:

Best Picture: “The Shape of Water”

Director: Guillermo del Toro“The Shape of Water”

Actor: Gary Oldman“Darkest Hour”

Actress: Frances McDormand“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”

Supporting Actor: Sam Rockwell, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”

Supporting Actress: Allison Janney, “I, Tonya”

Original Screenplay: “Get Out”

Adapted Screenplay: “Call Me by Your Name”

Foreign Language Film: “A Fantastic Woman”

Animated Feature: “Coco”

Visual Effects: “Blade Runner 2049”

Film Editing: “Dunkirk”

Animated Short: “Dear Basketball”

Live Action Short: “The Silent Child”

Documentary Short: “Heaven Is a Traffic Jam on the 405”

Score: “The Shape of Water”

Song: “Remember Me” from “Coco”

Production Design: “The Shape of Water”

Cinematography: “Blade Runner 2049”

Costume Design: “Phantom Thread”

Makeup and Hairstyling: “Darkest Hour”

Documentary Feature: “Icarus”

Sound Editing: “Dunkirk”

Sound Mixing: “Dunkirk”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here